The Board of Directors

The composition of the Board of Directors of the Swedish Research Council for Sport Science is determined in accordance with regulation 2009:1 226 in which paragraph 2 reads as follows:

“The Research Council is led by a Board of Directors which shall consist of a President and 13 other members. The President is appointed by the government. With regard to members of the Board, the Swedish School of Sport and Health Sciences shall appoint one member, the Swedish Sports Confederation two members and the following institutions of higher education two members each:

  • Lund University, after consultation with Malmö University and Linnaeus University,
  • Gothenburg University, after consultation with Karlstad University and Halmstad University,
  • Karolinska Institutet, after consultation with the Stockholm University,
  • Örebro University, after consultation with Uppsala University and Linköping University,
  • Umeå University, after consultation with Mid Sweden University, Luleå University of Technology and Dalarna University.

All members shall be appointed for a maximum period of three years. For each member except the President there must be a substitute member. The substitute member shall be chosen in the same way and for the same period as the member. The Board of Directors shall appoint a Vice President from among its members.”

The composition of the Board of Directors from 2018 to 2019:

Susanna Hedenborg (Chairperson)
Professor of Sport Sciences
Malmö University
susanna.hedenborg@mau.se

Karin Redelius
Professor of Education
Swedish School of Sport and Health Sciences
karin.redelius@gih.se

Urban Johnson
Professor of Psychology
Halmstad University
urban.johnson@hh.se

Johnny Wijk
Professor of History
Stockholm University
johnny.wijk@historia.su.se

Tor Söderström
Professor of Education
Umeå University
tor.soderstrom@umu.se

Natalie Barker-Ruchti
Associate professor of Sport Sciences
Örebro University
natalie.barker@oru.se

Angelica Lindén Hirschberg
Professor of obstetrics and gynecology, in particular of reproductive medicine
Karolinska Institute
angelica.hirschberg.linden@ki.se

Jan Lexell
Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine
Lund university
jan.lexell@med.lu.se

Marie Alricsson
Professor of Sport Sciences
Linné University
marie.alricsson@lnu.se

Hans-Christer Holmberg
Professor of Physiology
Mid University
hans-christer.holmberg@miun.se

Joanna Kvist
Professor of Physiotherapy
Linköping University
joanna.kvist@liu.se

Mikael Quennerstedt
Professor of Sport Sciences
Örebro University
mikael.quennerstedt@oru.se

Susanne Erlandsson
Swedish Sports Confederation
susanne.erlandsson@svenskfotboll.se

Peter Mattsson
Swedish Sports Confederation
peter.mattsson@rf.se