Membership of the Scientific Review Panel 2020

The Board of Directors of the Swedish Research Council for Sport Science appoints the Scientific Review Panel in consultation with the Swedish Research Council (VR).

The Scientific Review Panel of the Research Council for Sport Science is divided into three Scientific Review Groups, with the following interests: The humanities and social sciences, physiology, medicine and biomechanics and traumatology, orthopaedics and rehabilitation. Applications of a multidisciplinary nature may need to be evaluated by more than one Scientific Review Group.

Each Scientific Review Group consists of a Chairperson and three members.

It is the Board of Directors where decisions regarding the distribution of funds are taken.

Scientific Review Group: Humanities and social sciences

Josef Fahlén (chairperson)
Docent of Pedagogy
Umeå University

Christer Ericsson
Professor Emeritus in the History of Sport
Örebro University

Mette Krogh Christensen
Associate Professor of Pedagogy
Aarhus University

Natalia Stambulova
Professor of Psychology
Halmstad University

Scientific Review Group: Physiology, medicine and biomechanics

Ylva Hellsten (chairperson)
Ylva Hellsten
Professor of Integrative Physiology
University of Copenhagen

Jan Cabri
Scientific Director
Luxembourg Institute of Research in Orthopedics, Sports Medicine and Science

Gareth Wallis
PhD in Physiology
University of Birmingham

Niels Ørtenblad
Professor of Physiology
The University of Southern Denmark

Scientific Review Group: Traumatology, orthopaedics and rehabilitation

Ronny Lorentzon (chairperson)
Professor Emeritus of Orthopaedics
Umeå University

Paul Ackermann
Associate Professor of Orthopaedics
Karolinska Institute

Maria Hagströmer
Professor of Physiotherapy
Karolinska Institute

Grethe Myklebust
Professor of Physiotherapy
The Norwegian School of Sport Sciences